2019-01-07 , 1091 Views

2016 Ewha ISC: Judith Veld from Utrecht University

ISC: Judith Veld from Utrecht University

For me, 2016 was a year of adventure. It started by leaving the safety of The Netherlands for the snowy mountain peaks of Canada to go on exchange. As I was picking my courses I decided to take Korean. ‘Why on earth would you take Korean in Canada?’ is what everyone proceeded to ask me. I had been listening to Korean music for a few months and watched a drama so to me it seemed like a perfect opportunity. As the semester progressed I started thinking ahead of my summer, knowing that I had to leave Canada by the 28th of June. I looked at a map of the world and immediately made a decision: South-Korea. I Skype-called my parents and booked my flight tickets right away. That summer I would spend two months in South-Korea, although I did not know yet what I would be doing….

Inspired by my Korean classes I decided I wanted to take a summer school to learn more Korean. Since Women’s and Gender studies are part of my major, EWHA was the perfect choice for me. When I saw the offered Women’s and Gender studies courses, I knew that I had found my summer plans, and the session I also so happened to be timed perfectly with my flights. The rest of my time in Canada flew by and suddenly I was standing at Schiphol airport  in Amsterdam again for my one-day layover before going to Canada. I had just about enough time to see my parents, empty my suitcase, and change my clothes. Walking through Gimpo Airport felt unreal. I suddenly found myself surrounded by Korean! The next day I moved into my dorm, and the EWHA adventure was finally starting.

asdf