2019-01-07 , 657 Views

2015 Ewha ISC: Karla Rebolledo

2015 Ewha ISC: Karla Rebolledo, University of Colima, Mexico

MEMOIRS OF MY LIFE IN EWHA

Having the opportunity to enroll in the International Co-ed Summer College is something I’ll always be thankful for. This was my first experience studying abroad and also the first time I left home to travel all by my own. Korea hasn’t been in my mind since too long, actually, I just started studying a little bit about it a few months ago when I enrolled in the Korea Foundation Global e-School Program, and that got me really interested in the country’s culture and traditions as well as in the language but above all I got very curious about Korean politics and the people’s perceptions about the existing social problems around the world, so I enrolled in classes about that (‘Politics in Korean and East Asia’ and ‘Social Problems in Contemporary Global World’) and I didn’t regret since the professors were great and really well prepared, they taught us (the group) many important and interesting facts, and they were so nice that took us for lunch sometimes!

Living in Korea would’ve been very hard for me if I wouldn’t have a PEACE buddy there to help me out in many situations, and I can’t believe that we became really good friends in so little time! She showed me many places, food and traditions, and taught me the main principles and general culture of Korean people. My general view of Korean people, even though I know not each person is the same, is that honesty and respect predominate in the society. I noted a special tone of kindness among people at Ewha Womans University that I loved and appreciated from the beginning of the course to the very last day ☺